Words of Comfort


The fact that all pet lovers will someday find themselves grieving the loss of a beloved pet, or trying helplessly to support a friend who is suffering such a loss, is a truly sad fact of life. How do we comfort ourselves? Our friends? How will we ever heal from the deep wound of loss? Let the following words bring comfort to us, who will miss Corky and Callie, and to their grieving parents. Dear friends, bless you in these difficult times. Dear Corky and Callie, wag your tails for the angels.

The following quotations were taken from http://www.pet-loss-matters.com

“Heartbreak is life educating us.”
(George Bernard Shaw)

“Until one has loved an animal, a part of one’s soul remains unawakened. “
(Anatole France)

“Heaven goes by favor. If it went by merit, you would stay out and your dog would go in. “
(Mark Twain)

“If having a soul means being able to feel love and loyalty and gratitude, then animals are better off than a lot of humans.”
(James Herriot)

“Grief is like the ocean; it comes on waves ebbing and flowing. Sometimes the water is calm, and sometimes it is overwhelming. All we can do is learn to swim.”
(Vicki Harrison)

“No heaven will not ever Heaven be. Unless my cats are there to welcome me.”
(Anonymous)

“Dogs are not our whole life, but they make our lives whole.”
(Roger Caras)

“If I have any beliefs about immortality it is that certain dogs I know will go to heaven, and very very few people.”
(James Thurber)

“It is a fearful thing to love what death can touch.”
(Anonymous)

“The dog is a gentleman; I hope to go to his heaven, not man’s.”
(Mark Twain)

“Death ends a life, not a relationship.”
(Jack Lemmon)

“If there are no dogs in Heaven, then when I die I want to go where they went.”
(Will Rogers)

“He is my other eyes that can see above the clouds; my other ears that hear above the winds. He is the part of me that can reach out into the sea. He has told me a thousand times over that I am his reason for being; by the way he rests against my leg; by the way he thumps his tail at my smallest smile; by the way he shows his hurt when I leave without taking him. (I think it makes him sick with worry when he is not along to care for me.) When I am wrong, he is delighted to forgive. When I am angry, he clowns to make me smile. When I am happy, he is joy unbounded. When I am a fool, he ignores it. When I succeed, he brags. Without him, I am only another man. With him, I am all-powerful. He is loyalty itself. He has taught me the meaning of devotion. With him, I know a secret comfort and a private peace. He has brought me understanding where before I was ignorant. His head on my knee can heal my human hurts. His presence by my side is protection against my fears of dark and unknown things. He has promised to wait for me… whenever… wherever – in case I need him. And I expect I will – as I always have. He is just my dog.”
(Gene Hill)

God's finger touched him, and he slept. (Lord Tennyson)

God's finger touched him, and he slept. (Lord Tennyson)

LilyAnn posted a beautiful poem in tribute to Corky, and Callie. She is allowing the magazine to print it here in tribute to our lost friends. The poem perfectly captures the essence of of a dog.

How the Dog Got Its Name

When God had made the earth and sky,
The flowers and the seas,
He then made all the animals,
and then the bird and bees.

And when His work was finished,
Not one was quite the same.
He said, “I’ll walk this earth of mine,
And give each one a name.”

And so He traveled land and sea,
And everywhere He went,
A little creature followed Him
Until His strength was spent.

We all were named upon the earth,
And in the sky and sea.
The little creature said, “Dear Lord,
There’s not one left for me.”

The Father smiled, and softly said,
“I’ve left you to the end.
I’ve turned my own name back to front,
And called you Dog, my friend.”

3 responses to “Words of Comfort

  1. BARBARA+SUSIE LOBO

    AND GOD SENDS THEM TO US HIS NAME SPELLED BACKWARD SUCH LOVE. I THANKGOD FOR ALL THE ONES HE PLACED WITH ME.

  2. Thank you for this compilation ~Thank God for Dogs.

  3. This was heart warming! Thanks for the article!

Leave a Reply

