Dog-Speak by Lynn, Twinkle’s Mommy!


Twinkle & Skye at home with Mommy!

Dog-Speak

Those of us who speak to dogs understand their capacity for language. Chances are the first word your dog learned was his or her name. Then perhaps a word or words relating to the act of eating and on to words identifying yourself and family members, words of approval and disapproval, words indicating fun and those commands of behavior.

Dogs have kept to mankind’s side for 1500 years, as we evolved so have they. The more we speak to dogs the more they learn; words creating a bridge between our species. What of our own capacity to learn their language? Those barks, growls and yelps mean something. Personally I cannot say exactly what they mean, yet I do have a sense of what their sounds infer by pitch, frequency, tone and emotion. I converse daily with my two dogs; they tilt their heads maintaining eye contact, listening ~more intently than many humans.

Do Twinkle & Skye understand everything I say verbally or do they gather information as I do, through pitch, tone, inflections, feeling my emotion. I believe dogs have sentient ability, to the point of not only knowing our feeling about a thing but going so far as to see the pictures within our minds.  Regrettably I do not know dog-speak well enough to bark, nor do dogs know ours well enough to enunciate words. And yet, can I hold out hope? Most of us have seen video clips of dogs saying the word Mommy, always an amazing spectacle.

How large is your dog’s vocabulary? I imagine if you thoughtfully made a list of all the words and combination of words your dog understands you would marvel at their linguistic skill. And consider this ~the learning continues, as the days ensue your dog can acquire more words. Teach your dog your language; instead of calling out commands, have a conversation.

~Lynn K.

Dogpawfile Magazine, would like to thank Lynn for this article!

2 responses to “Dog-Speak by Lynn, Twinkle’s Mommy!

  1. I love it!! You took the words right outta Loren’s and my mouth, great job!

  2. BARBARA AND SUSIE LOBO

    THIS MUCH I WILL ADD. WHEN I AM SAD SUSIE PICKS UP ON IT RIGHT AWAY. AND IF I AM CRYING SHE WILL PERSIST IN GET IN MY LAP AND I MEAN PERSIT SO THAT SHE CAN LICK THE TEARS AWAY. SO I BELIEVE OUR FUR BABIES COMMUNICATE WITH US.

Leave a Reply

