The Special K’s by Tiny Girl’s ‘Pet Pawtraits!’


The Very Special K's

The “Special Ks:” Love, Hope, and Peace

Stockbridge, Georgia

Owner: Vicki

Our pets enrich our lives, and often provide a much needed light. Such was the case with the “Special Ks,” a trio of white, canine fluff that brought love, hope, and peace to their “mom,” Vicki.

Keisa, a ten year old Bichon, was the first to join Vicki’s household.

“What makes Keisa special to me is that she came into my life after my Mom passed away, and I was in a deep depression that I couldn’t get out of,” Vicki shared. “With her help, I made it out of that deep, dark place I was in. She gave me the love I so needed at that time, and ever since.”

“Her grand-daddy owned a pet shop in Kentucky, and we went up to visit and check out their pet shop,” Vicki continued. “And there was this little, furry girl there that nobody had been interested in.”

Vicki instantly fell in love with the 4 ½ month old pup, whom her husband called “Keisa” simply because he liked the name. Vicki later discovered that “Keisa” is Swedish for “pure.”

“A striking Nordic name for an icy-blond girl. Sounds like her!” Vicki joked.

Keisa easily settled into her new home. In the beginning, she was “daddy’s girl,” but as time went on, she became most attached to Vicki. Born on July 17, 1999, Keisa is a healthy, friendly dog, who loves to “go bye bye,” and dance and twirl on her back legs “if the treat is right.”

The next furry darling to join the family was Kayla, a Maltese, who was born on February 1, 2000. Vicki’s husband brought her home at four weeks of age from Kentucky as a surprise for Vicki, who named the new addition “Kayla,” which means pure and beloved. Like Keisa, Kayla entered Vicki’s life at a critical time.

“What makes Kayla special to me is that her “Daddy” brought her home to me after my Dad passed away,” Vicki said. “As he didn’t want me to enter that dark place again. Kayla gave me hope.”

Kayla found her niche quickly, and got along well with Keisa. Unlike Keisa, however, Kayla is prone to ear infections. She enjoys when Vicki chases her around the room, and barks at lightning and thunder. Described as “loving,” Kayla has equal affection for her Mom and her Dad.

Rounding out the family is Karle, a Maltese, who was born on October 31, 2001. Like her predecessors, Karle became part of Vicki’s family at a deeply painful time.

Vicki explained: “What makes Karle special to me is that her Daddy brought her home to me as a Christmas present to give me peace after my baby brother killed himself from depression after our Mom and Dad passed away. When he (Vicki’s husband) came in with her, he said: “I have seen the love and hope that our other two girls have given you, and now I know you need peace….” Long story, but my baby brother was more like a son to me than a brother, and I was beside myself that I didn’t see it coming. I knew the signs all too well, but he didn’t live close by, so he hid a lot from me.”

For her new little girl, Vicki chose the name Karle, which means little, and womanly strength. “She has been my girl from day one,” Vicki said.

Described as “happy,” Karle gets along well with Keisa and Kayla. She possessively plays with her Bobos, is a little fearful of lightning and thunder, and unlike her sisters, is “leary of the grand-humans.”

“Karle will sit at the bottom of the steps at times, and whine till you come back down for her,” Vicki said. “And then she will dart passed you up the steps!”

While Vicki and her husband are at work, the three canine sisters enjoy sleeping, and look forward to playtime with Mom and Dad at the end of the day. Kayla’s ability to keep her sisters’ faces and ears clean is “both a trick and a talent,” Vicki reported, and Karle and Keisa have sometimes “had words over who owns Mommy.”

“Thus, this is how my girls became my Special Ks,” Vicki said.

Keisa…love. Kayla…hope. Karle…peace. These three loving pups have proven the healing powers of the unconditional love of a pet.

Author’s Note: Though all three of these lovely dogs were purchased at pet shops, Vicki would like everyone to know that her father owned the shop, and “picked up each one of his pups from the breeder’s house. He wanted to ensure he never bought from a puppy mill, but from a respectable breeder.” Please, folks, be aware of the dangers of puppy mills!

I would also like to thank Vicki for sharing her very personal story with us. She’s a special lady indeed!

Dogpawfile would like to give special thanks to the Special K’s & Tiny Girl for this Special article!

7 responses to “The Special K’s by Tiny Girl’s ‘Pet Pawtraits!’

  1. What beautiful reading.. you had me in tears, but it was great to get to know the whole family better. I am so sorry, Vicki, you have experienced such loss and sadness. Thank goodness for your three beautiful girls (and your lovely husband!)

  2. What a great story!! Thank you so much for sharing! :-}

  3. Callie Katie Kenzie Raven and Mommy

    It was so nice to read and get to know a part of you a little more!! We are all so sorry for your hard times but looks like you really come out on the winning end in the long run with all your special girls :0)

  4. Twinkle & Skye

    Vicki’s story of love and loss stretches my heart to tears ~Vicki, i’m deeply sorry for your suffering and thankful you have Karle, Keisa and Kayla giving you the love, peace and hope you need. ♥♥♥ (((hugs)))

  5. BARBARA AND SUSIE LOBO

    I AM SO SORRY FOR YOUR LOSS VICKI. BUT YOU HAVE THREE LITTLE BLESSINGS THERE.IT IS SO NICE TO GET TO KNOW YOU BETTER. I HAVE DEALNT WITH DEPRESSION A COUPLE OF TIME MYSELF IN THE PAST AND I UNDERSTAND. ITS FUNNY BUT IN 1992 I HAD TO HAVE MY WOMB REMOVED AND IT SADDENED ME CAUSE I ALWAYS WANTED ANOTHER CHILD. WE HAD OUR DOG SHILOH AT THE TIME SO WE WERE NOT LOOKING FOR ANOTHER .BUT WE WERE LOOKING AT THE PET STORE AND THATS HOW ASHLEY MEGAN CAME IN MY LIFE. IF I HAD HAD ANOTHER GIRL HER NAME WOULD HAVE BEEN MEGAN ASHLEY. WE JUST SWITCHED THE NAME AROUND. GOD PUTS THESE FURBABIES IN OUR LIVES FOR A REASON. GOD BLESS

  6. Lexi & Bentley's Mama

    You stole my heart with this story. I’m sorry you lost the people that mean the most to you. I’m also touched by the love your husband has for you and him knowing exactly what you needed all 3 times. You are a strong woman, he is a loving caring man, & together you are a great team. Your 3 baby girls are gorgeous in every way and are so lucky to have you as there mama. Thank you for sharing this beautiful story and thank you for the friendship! I know it’s only been a long distance friendship so far but hopefully one day we can meet. We Luv you from the bottom of our 3 hearts! xoxo

  7. I love these pet pawtraits, they are so fun to read! This was a truly touching story. ❤

Leave a Reply

