How God Saved Corky, and Me!


They say the Lord works in mysterious ways. Often, He speaks to us through our sorrows, through tragedy, which is something Cheryl, Corky’s “Mom” learned firsthand when her little one suffered a tragic accident on February 28, 1997. Cheryl now shares that experience with us.

Little Corky

Little Corky


A week before a nineteen inch television fell on my five pound, four year old Corky, I had thoughts running through my mind: what in the world would I do if something ever happened to Corky? I saw myself in the vet’s office, praying aloud in front of everyone, and begging God to let my baby live. But I didn’t think anymore about it; the thought left my mind. A week later, the premonition came true!

Mark, my husband at that time, was not a God-fearing person, and didn’t believe in Jesus at all. When I met him, I put God aside, and married him anyway. God became almost a thing of the past for me; I regret that so badly now. I had tried to witness to Mark about how God had healed me from a freak accident when I was three, but Mark said that was all in my mind, so I never revealed my faith to him, never prayed in front of him. When this happened to Corky, I fell to my knees right in front of Mark, begged God to let Corky live, and promised that I would change.

Mark didn’t know what to do. I had taken Corky to the emergency vet, and they had mis-read his x-rays, and sent him home. I knew he wasn’t breathing right, so I prayed all night, and took him to my own vet the next morning. I fell to my knees in the vet’s office when he told me how badly Corky was injured. Corky had a diphragmatic hernia; the lining that held all his little organs in place had torn. His diaphragm had ruptured, and all his organs came into his chest. His colon was in his chest cavity, and so forth. The vet said it was as if Corky had been run over by a car. Corky needed surgery to reposition his organs.

The vet was so moved by my prayers that he would not even operate on Corky without taking more x-rays.

” I think God may have just healed him!” The vet said.

But God hadn’t yet; I had more begging to do!

I went home, and left Corky at the vet’s all weekend for surgery on Monday. In front of Mark, I cried and prayed all weekend. When I went to the vet’s on Monday, it was awful. I had to sign a document acknowledging that I knew the risks of the surgery, and accepted the fact that Corky may not make it through, but certainly couldn’t live without the procedure. They brought Corky to me, and I kept him for a while. In front of a room full of people, I prayed aloud, just as I had envisioned myself doing the week before. I didn’t care what anyone thought. I prayed for a miracle. They came to get Corky…

Corky made it through! I spent so much time in the waiting room crying, and praying with my parents. Perhaps this, exactly what I had foreseen the week before, is what God wanted. I can’t explain it…except that this was God talking to me. Maybe someone in the waiting room took this in, and it helped them, or even my vet and his employees. I have no clue. The nurse said that the vet even prayed before surgery. All that matters is that God reached out to me through my little Corky, and responded to my prayer by healing him.

Thank you, Jesus!

The vet said he had never seen anything like it. Corky had breathed on his own, he explained, and that had never happened during surgery. He said God was with this little guy!

I have not been the same since. I have gotten closer to God over the years. It didn’t happen overnight. I started praying every night, and Mark listened to me as I prayed. But two years later, he admitted that he wasn’t happy, and left me for another woman. I then knew what I was looking for in a man: someone who believed in God. That’s what I prayed for. Once again, God answered. He sent me my Tony! Tony is a “red neck,” and tough as all get out, but he believes!

The Lord saved Corky, and through my little dog, and his tragic accident, the Lord reached out, and “saved” me, too. ~ Cheryl

Thank you for sharing this wonderful story, Cheryl! If you would like to share a personal story about your pet, please email tinygirlpup@aol.com, or send Tiny a peemail!

5 responses to “How God Saved Corky, and Me!

  1. What a beautiful story god can make anything possible if you belived

  2. That is a very touching and inspirational story! Thank you Cheryl & Corky for sharing it with us! I think God is a part of everyone’s lives, if you believe or not!

    Jersey

  3. BARBARA AND SUSIE LOBO

    THIS IS WHAT OUR GOD CAN DO. THIS BROUGHT GLORY TO HIS NAMS AND WE SHOULD PRAISE HIM EVERYDAY. GOD WORKS IN WAYS WE SOMETIMES DONT UNDERSTAND. AND I KNOW GOD BROUGHT US ALL TOGETHER HERE AT PAWFILES TO BUILD ONE ANOTHER UP. WE FALL SOMETIMES AND GET MAD AT OURSELFS FOR DOING SO. THAT IS GOOD WE GET MAD AT UORSELFS IT SHOWS WE ARE SORRY AND WANT TO CHANGE.GOD BLESS YOU MY FRIEND

  4. Thank you for sharing your beautiful story, may God always bless you, Cheryl, with His amazing grace and perfect love.

  5. The AFKL & Carolyn

    A very heartwarming story- loved it! Thanks so much for sharing!

Leave a Reply

