Senior Moments


Dogpawfile Magazine is very happy to welcome a new monthly columnist: Liberty!

libertyformag

Dorothy, Liberty’s Mom, says: “Liberty and I write silly rhymes and poems to help us through those frustratingly worrisome times that you encounter meeting the needs of an aged to pawfection dog. Liberty has taught my husband and I to enjoy the quiet of the evening when we bring the dogs inside for the night. She is right: it is very relaxing.
We hope to keep you entertained and pass along helpful tips and information in our future installments of our column.”

With great pleasure, then, Dogpawfile Magazine gives you: Senior Moments.

senior_moments
Enjoying The End of My Day!

Standing at the bottom of the stairs,
Savoring the sent of evening air.
Mom asks me to come in.
I glance at her and say,
I am just fine.
Taking my time.
Enjoying the end of my day.

Dad and brother at the door up high,
Wondering why my tail does fly.
Dad asks if I need help.
I glance at him and say,
I am just fine.
Taking my time.
Enjoying the end of my day.

Dad comes out, and without a sound,
He bends to pick me up.
I lay right down, there on the ground.
I glance at him and say,
I am just fine.
Taking my time.
Enjoying the end of my day.

Mom and dad both shrug,
up the stairs they trudge,
turning as they go.
I follow them and say,
I was just fine.
Enjoying the end of my day!
waggs-n-sniffs,
Liberty

8 responses to “Senior Moments

  1. Twinkle & Skye

    Delightful! Creative! Loving!!! Thank you for sharing your poetry~~~

  2. A pawfect and welcome new addition! thank you!!!

  3. I love this poem. It made my mom have some water in her eyes because lately I haven’t been wantin’ to hop right up on the bed and I won’t hop on the stool she put at the bottom ‘specially for me to get easily on the bed. But that’s it…you said it pawfectly!
    “I am just fine.
    Taking my time.
    Enjoying the end of my day.”

    ♥ Jake ♥

  4. Bubbles, Tusche, Che and Jodene

    Lovely message from you as always, but now you are a part of the magazine, too! Makes us all pause and take a moment…we look forward to your next poem or message.

  5. I loved this. It reminded me of our Roxy in the twilight of her life.

  6. BARBARA+SUSIE LOBO

    THIS POEM IS SO SWEET IT BOUGHT TEARS TO MY EYES. REMINDED ME OF MY BABIES WHO ARE NOW AT RAINBOW BRIDGE. IT HARD WATCHING THEM AGE

  7. Pat and therapy three

    Tears and chills!!! Love this and so remember all of our aged dogs and that is exactly what they used to think
    oxox

  8. Liberty and Justice

    Thank-you for all your lovely comments! xox

Leave a Reply

